+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Spam Mail

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Spam Mail

    Hello,

    What is Steadfast Networks spam policy?

    I've recieved a handful of the following emails to my domain names just today: (I replaced my domain name with "mydomainname.com" and the bottom where it says "My Company Name" it had my company name on it.

    The acutal link pointed to a steadfast IP address: 205.138.199.146

    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=!NET-205-138-192-0-1&server=whois.arin.net&email=on

    Code:
    Dear Valued Member, 
    
    According to our site policy you will have to confirm your account by the following link or else your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.
    
    http://www.mydomainname.com/confirm....domainname.com
    
    Thank you for your attention to this question. We apologize for any inconvenience.
    
    Sincerely,MyCompany Name Security Department Assistant.
    Please advise

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default Fraudulent Messages

    I too want to know what the policy is. I also received such messages and so have my customers. In my case, the message came from me to me and from my customer to my customer. Same IP was used:

    http://205.138.199.146/confirm.php?e...ycustomers.net

    I have saved the message and all headers if it is needed. I actively pursue all fraudulent spam email such as this. This is not only spam, it is identity theft.

  3. #3
    Ray
    Ray is offline
    I can't do everything.
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, WI
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Hello,

    We do not tolerate SPAM. We had suspended the account in question within minutes after receiving the first few complaints. Thank you for reporting this, and please continue to do so in the future.
    Ray Tetzloff


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I received two new false emails again today from the same IP address.

  5. #5
    Ray
    Ray is offline
    I can't do everything.
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, WI
    Posts
    134

    Default

    The SPAM is not originating from our network. It is spamvertising the site and it is not active currently. I would encourage you to check the headers of the message and notify the ISPs of the originating network.

    We believe this was spread by a worm. I can assure you with full confidence that this site is no longer active.
    Ray Tetzloff


  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    5

    Default SPAM problem

    Everyday I keep on getting E-mails from random domains that don't even exist. It annoys me because when I'm geting like 10+ e-mails a day from these people its chews up my space on my account and that isn't good.
    ________

    Like, I got an E-mail from this user... alango82@hotmail.com and the subject said "IMPORTANT" I opened the document thinking it was one of my friends messing around and it put a virus on my computer at home. If you would like more details Ray or anyone else from speadfastnetworks please contact me.

    Thank You

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    14

    Default

    As soon as you register a domain, your name is all over the internet, and people are going to send spam to postmater@yourdomain.com, webmaster@yourdomain.com ... etc... There really isn't much Steadfast can do about a spammer in India, sending out spam mail.

    Why you would ever open up an attachment from someone you don't know is beyond me. You're just inviting trouble. You never ever do that.

    Tabby

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default training spam filters

    If I understood correctly, mail (spam) filtering is don with SpamAssassin. It's great, but is there any way to teach it?
    I mean at home I can use sa_learn --ham/spam to have SpamAssassin learn that mail is ham/spam. I used some bash scripts and folders (Spam.Old holds the trained spam, Spam.Maybe gets the marked messages and Spam.Sure is where I, the user put real spams, and from where SA learns spam - every other folder (except INBOX) treated and learnt as ham).

    Is it possible to access my domains'/mailboxes' spamassassin profile?

    Thanks,
    Tamás Gulácsi

  9. #9
    I love LAMP.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    201

    Default

    It's not possible on shared hosting systems to access the mailboxes directly as they're on a restricted-access server seperate from the web servers.
    Kevin Stange
    Chief Technology Officer
    Steadfast Networks
    http://steadfast.net
    kevin@steadfast.net

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts