+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: hijacked domain

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    14

    Default hijacked domain

    In a long forgotten time, I registered stritys .com domain at another registrar, but without any renewal notice the domain has been taken over to publish some stupid add-site.

    How can I re-obtain the domain, and is it possible to get it registered through steadfast ? Can any steps been taken so we can re-obtain it ?

  2. #2
    What do I do with this ?
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I say contact the registrar ASAP. Read the contract,and see if they were obliged to send a renewal notice,think of the email address you should have recieved it on , if the email was bounced or landed in your spambox. Contact them and explain them your situation. Some registrars make exceptions and (some), for a certain reinstatement fee, give back the domains to their former owners. If it was their fault , you should get your domain back.

    Once the domain is back in your possession transfer it to a registrar you trust more .

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    150

    Default

    You'll need to contact Enom and see if you can get it renewed. And hurry and don't procrastinate about it. Just log into your Control Panel and see if you can renew it. You generally have 30 days before it enters redemption period and then you have to pay a hefty fee.
    All the best,
    ManagerJosh
    Gaming Hosting Director of
    SimGames.net, Owned and Operated by Steadfast Networks

  4. #4
    I love LAMP.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    201

    Default

    Also, after the grace period, the registrar often abandons the domain and it is picked up by a "search portal" company which uses your traffic to sell ads. You don't want to get to that point, because if you can even buy the domain, you're going to pay a fortune for it.
    Kevin Stange
    Chief Technology Officer
    Steadfast Networks
    http://steadfast.net
    kevin@steadfast.net

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Is it ok now.. But whois record is strange. Look at the Last update Date & Thread start date.

    Registrar: ENOM, INC.

    Expiration Date: 2008-02-06
    Creation Date: 2001-02-06
    Last Update Date: 2007-03-17

    Name Servers:
    ns.nozonenet.com
    ns2.nozonenet.com
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional [MVP] - 2007
    TechTalkz.com - The fastest growing Technology & Computer Support Forums!

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Was it a domain registered with RegisterFly?
    All the best,
    ManagerJosh
    Gaming Hosting Director of
    SimGames.net, Owned and Operated by Steadfast Networks

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts